Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning

Now available: the latest installment of the Agatha- and Anthony-award-winning Chesapeake Crimes series. This volume features my story, "The Gardener," about an expat wife on a Middle Eastern housing compound who takes her gardening chores very seriously. I am in wildly good company in this anthology, joined by Chessie Sisters and Misters Donna Andrews, Timothy Bentler-Jungr, Shaun Taylor Bevins, Carla Coupe, Maddi Davidson, Linda Ensign, Barb Goffman, Adam Meyer, Alan Orloff, KM Rockwood, Lauren R. Silberman, Marianne Wilski Strong, Art Taylor, and Robin Templeton. "The diabolical sisters of the Chesapeake Chapter of Sisters in Crime have raised the stakes: not only asking their astute members to offer up a gem of a short story, but to add a degree of difficulty. It has to be about the weather.... Rain, snowstorms, hurricanes. The glare of the sun. The shrouding fog. Clouds, mist, hail, and icy roads. The Chessies have used their writerly talent to embrace the weather, to relish it, and to provide us with a raft of meteorological (and deadly) delights." - Hank Phillippi Ryan, bestselling author of the Jane Ryland series

"This compendium of short stories is full of award winning authors. In addition to the best-selling author Donna Andrews, there are Agatha, Anthony, Derringer and Macavity award winners. Many of the stories in their previous anthologies have been nominated and won short story awards. I wouldn't be surprised to see many from this anthology be nominated in the future."--The Examiner


Mystery Times 2015

My short story, "Pesticides Can Kill You" snagged the 2nd place award in the Mystery Times 2015 anthology. The tale features a farmers market master who goes way, way too far.... Pick up this short story plus seven other spine-tinglers in Mystery Times 2015, in paperback or as an ebook. 








Here's what reviewers are saying about jamie august:

"Anyone looking for the mild-mannered lady detective usually found in G-rated cozy-mysteries won't find her here - Jamie August is no wallflower and has no problem using her sexuality to get what she wants. She can hold her own in the hardboiled detective tradition." Lynne Hinkey, Underground Book Reviews

Ocean City Cover-up: A Jamie August Novel

"Kash takes readers on a rocket ride from Maryland’s Eastern Shore, to Baltimore’s eclectic Hampden area, to a luxurious penthouse in Dubai, outwitting Russian mobsters, crooked cops, a superstar rapper, and even the girl’s own parents in this high-spirited, slyly humorous page-turner."--Marcia Talley, Agatha and Anthony award-winning author of Daughter of Ashes and thirteen previous Hannah Ives mysteries

"Kim Kash has crafted a solid mystery with plenty of twists, whip-smart dialogue, and a sprinkle of romance. Ocean City Cover-up kept me awake into the wee hours, flipping pages and collecting clues with Jamie.”--LynDee Walker, Agatha Award-nominated author of Devil in the Deadline

Euro-trash collides with American gangsta in Maryland’s gleefully cheesy beach resort. Reporter Jamie August befriends a spoiled heiress who is being pursued by Russian mobsters—and a chart-topping rap star. Meanwhile, a raging crime spree is keeping Jamie busy—and so is a hot new boyfriend and a strict jogging and frozen custard fitness plan. Action careens from OC to Dubai, from the wild shores of Assateague to a wild-west campground. Will Jamie survive to debut her fringed leopard-print bikini?

Order it right here.

Ocean City Lowdown: A Jamie August Novel

"Jamie is a smart, sexy and unforgettable heroine I'd love to be my guide to the real Ocean City, Maryland--no matter what the season. Ocean City Lowdown is  a wonderful, original debut mystery filled with delightful characters that is bound to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich.-Sujata Massey, Macavity and Agatha Award-winning author of the Rei Shimura Series and The Sleeping Dictionary

Ocean City Lowdown introduces Eastern Shore Maryland reporter Jamie August, who has a talent for unearthing more than her editor wants and a weakness for Ravens jerseys and sparkly underwear. She is assigned to cover the grand opening of a big new housing development in Ocean City, Maryland. Instead of writing about wrap-around porches and rattan furnishings, she uncovers kickbacks and payoffs, blackmail and murder. Jamie's tenacity, smarts, and sheer recklessness—plus some smokin’ striptease dance moves—can get her out of some tight spots, but are they enough to save her from a psychopathic arsonist and two generations of corrupt real estate tycoons?

Get it right here

Listen to Jamie's OC-inspired playlist, here!

(Bon Jovi, Billy Squier, Van Halen, all the greats.)


What Jamie's fans are saying about the series:

Hiaasen meets Bubbles Yablonsky”
—Sarah D. Baker

A gangbuster of a story and an apt description of Ocean City and any other number of beach side amusement/vacation spots. All of these areas are homes to transient workers, hustlers, and every wannabe that comes to mind. The author does a commendable job of portraying the atmosphere and describing the typical characters, including those permanent residents who derive their living from the temporaries. Add to the mix a little romance, a bit of foreign intrigue and a colorful cast of representatives from all stations of life and you have a five star page turner with an engaging plot sure to leave the reader waiting for the next installment.
— Philip Bailey
Hilarious, suspenseful page-turner”
If ever a gal needed to carry a fire extinguisher in her purse, it is Jamie August. This fiction offering from Kim Kash has it all: Mystery, suspense, comedy, bad accents, bad boys (and, on a related note, some very bad judgment), mixed with a healthy dose of the absurd. It’s a quick read, if only because you can’t wait to find out what will happen next. I can’t wait for Jamie’s next (mis)adventure “downy oshun”. Highly recommended !
— M. Byrd
Sarcastic, with a pinch of sweetness and a dash of street smarts”
I love this series! Jamie seems to get herself into the most bizarre situations but with the help of old and new friends can weasel her way out. I found myself laughing at Jamie’s quick wit and in the blink of an eye sitting on the edge of my seat worrying about her. I will read more of this series.
— Vicki

The travel guide that inspired the Jamie August novel series:

Ocean City: A Guide to Maryland's Seaside Resort

Ocean City is Maryland's seaside paradise. With a carnival atmosphere on the Boardwalk and quiet natural beauty on the bayside, this resort community has something for everyone. In this independent guide, discover what brings vacationers back year after year, including information about area beaches, the famous Ocean City Boardwalk, area dining, shopping, golfing, waterparks and more. Using this guide, visitors can plan their ideal vacation to Ocean City.

A Must-Have for Ocean City Fans
What a great book! I’ve been to Ocean City, Maryland twenty-three times since 1984 for our summer (or early fall) vacation. I thought I knew the town so well, but during my recent visit there I purchased this book, and realized there was a lot I’d never experienced. I had heard of many of the establishments listed here, but I tended to ignore some of them, because I kept patronizing my favorites. Now, after reading the in-depth descriptions of many of these places, I want to spend my next trip exploring them. If you’ve never been to Ocean City before, this book is literally all you need to make your way around the town. I also liked the chapter devoted to the history and development of the resort. Very descriptive and to the point. You simply cannot go wrong with this book!
— Kevin H.
The Complete Guide to Ocean City
This guide book is an invaluable resource for getting the most out of a visit to Ocean City. Coming from the west coast, I know next to nothing about the east coast and its environs. Therefore this book’s suggestions for ways to expand your Ocean City experience are enlightening and imaginative; ideas like visiting nearby Assateague Island (to see the wild horses), its lists of family-friendly hikes, day trips to places like Chesapeake Bay Farms, and in general an insider’s sense of what is, and what is not, worthy of a person’s time. This book also gives tips on where to look for good surf. If you’re looking to have some unique, authentic OC fun, there is also a very useful section on “crabbing” and how to prepare your catch afterwards. This book really takes all the guesswork out of visiting Ocean City, and will make your experience stress-free and more enjoyable.
— Paul C.